Transforming waste into resources

Pyrum thermolysis: sustainable raw materials and energy from used tyres and waste

Transforming waste into resources

Pyrum thermolysis: sustainable raw materials and energy from used tyres and waste

We’re exhibiting at Tire Technology Expo

Hanover, March 19, 20 & 21, 2024

Siemes Ag /​Pyrum Innovations AG
Booth no. 8058

An interactive explanation of the thermolysis process

The thermolysis process

Pyrum logo white

“The purest form of madness is to leave everything as it is and at the same time hope that something will change.” (Albert Einstein)

Pyrum Innovations AG

Pyrum Innovations AG is a forward-​looking recycling and plant engineering company based in Dillingen/​Saar (Germany).

We develop, build and operate innovative recycling plants based on our globally patented, unique thermolysis process. These allow us to recover high-​quality raw materials from used tyres, rubber and plastic waste in an environmentally friendly way and return them to the materials cycle. The secondary raw materials obtained include thermolysis oil with REACH certification and recovered carbon black (rCB).

The innovative thermolysis recycling systems are marketed worldwide and supplied to Pyrum’s contract partners.

In September 2020, BASF BASF acquired a stake in Pyrum Innovations AG as part of its – ChemCyclingTM-Pyrum Innovations AG and guarantees the purchase of the thermolysis oil produced both in its own plants and in the plants of its contractual partners.

Play Video

Pyrum Partner

Technology 

Pyrum thermolysis: this unique, patented process involves the thermal decomposition of organic substances or rubber and plastic waste in the absence of oxygen. 

Solutions 

Customised recycling solutions for used tyres, rubber and plastics: the Pyrum Innovations Group develops and builds innovative thermolysis systems for the efficient recycling of rubber and various plastics. 

Environment 

Mission ‘used tyres’: used tyres that are illegally disposed of in the countryside or incinerated cause major environmental damage. We recycle used tyres and transform them valuable secondary raw materials in an environmentally friendly way and so ensure that they stay in the material cycle. 

Advantages of Pyrum thermolysis technology

100% autonomous energy supply 
72% CO2 savings 
Flexible modular design 
Recovery of raw materials 

Latest news

Tour of the Pyrum thermolysis plant on 30 October 2024
Pyrum Innovations AG publishes financial figures for the first three months of 2024
Expansion of the use of Pyrum rCB in the Schwalbe tyre range

The Pyrum concept

Pyrum Innovations AG was founded back in 2008, the brainchild of four friends, and was initially based out of a 9 m² garden shed. Today we are one of the leading thermolysis companies with worldwide patents.

Since the company’s foundation, we have developed, planned and built everything ourselves – from our own laboratory to the large-​scale industrial recycling plant. We have already overcome the biggest hurdles on our path to becoming the global market leader.

Pyrum’s story proves that nothing is impossible as long as you believe in yourself and your cause. To the surprise of many doubters, we have successfully implemented the thermolysis process on an industrial scale. As the saying goes: ‘Everyone said it was impossible, then someone who didn’t know that came along and just did it.’

We will remain true to our values in the future, think outside the box and develop new solutions in order to make a contribution to improving the Solving the world’s waste and environmental problems.

The Executive Board

Pyrum’s partners in plant engineering

1. recycling of used tyres

Environmentally friendly tyre recycling

New raw materials are obtained from old tyres using the patented pyrum thermolysis process: In addition to steel wire and fabric fibres, mainly Oil, gas and carbon – energy self-​sufficient and environmentally friendly. Compared to the used tyre disposal mix in Germany, this means that 72 % CO2 saved (according to the Fraunhofer UMSICHT study 2022).

2. shredding the used tyres

Shredding three tonnes of used tyres per hour

The used tyres are first shredded. The Pyrum plant in Dillingen has a capacity of three tonnes of used tyres per hour.
Fabric fibres and Steel wire are filtered out and added to the
production cycle of the industry.

Learn more

3. filter out steel wire

Pyrum steel wire: sustainable raw material for the steel industry

One tonne of used tyres can be turned into up to 750 kg Pyrum steel wire filtered out. By post-​treatment of the steel wire, Pyrum achieves a Purity of over 96 per cent. The wire can be purchased at the current mixed steel scrap price.

Learn more

4. filter out fabric fibres

Pyrum fabric fibres: Sustainable raw material for the construction industry

Three tonnes of used tyres are turned into up to 300 kg Pyrum tissue fibres filtered out. These are used as a valuable secondary raw material for the production of new Insulation material for the construction industry.

5. pyrum rubber granules

Pyrum rubber granulate: the material for top recycled products

The rubber granulate produced using the pyrum thermolysis process is a valuable and sought-​after secondary raw material for the production of sustainable recycled products that meets the highest standards. The granulate is available in four different grain sizes from 1 to 6 mm for different applications and almost every customer requirement.

Learn more

6. thermolysis of the tyre rubber

Pyrum thermolysis: Sustainable raw materials from tyre rubber 

Three tonnes of used tyres are turned into up to 2,100 kg Rubber filtered out. The granulated rubber (grain size 12 mm) is fed to the thermolysis process in the patented Pyrum vertical reactor. In the process, the rubber is Steam and Solid (coke) separated. In the process, sufficient Energy for the self-​sufficient operation of the system.

With pyrum thermolysis, in addition to Exhaust and heat energy valuable Raw materials for the sustainable manufacture of new products:

7. pyrum thermolysis oil

Pyrum thermolysis oil: Sustainable raw material for the chemical industry

The vapours generated during pyrum thermolysis are condensed and stored in Permanent gas and Thermolysis oil separated. Pyrum thermolysis oil is a unique crude oil that is produced to the highest quality and consistent grade.

The REACH-​certified recycled oil is used as a raw material in various industries: chemical industry, refineries, carbon black production (CB) etc.

Practical applications

Pyrum thermolysis oil is used, for example, in combination with biomethane as a raw material in the production of virgin plastics for Mercedes-​Benz vehicle components.

Learn more

Pyrum thermolysis oil is used, for example, as a raw material for the production of polyamide for Outdoor clothing from the VAUDE brand used.

Learn more

8 BASF relies on pyrum thermolysis oil

BASF relies on pyrum thermolysis oil

The Chemicals group BASF has invested in Pyrum Innovations AG as part of the ChemCycling™ project. With the REACH-​certified thermolysis oil, BASF is securing a Pioneering source of raw materials and at the same time improves its own carbon footprint. BASF is already using the oil at its Ludwigshafen site for new plastics for the production of Vehicle components from Mercedes-​Benz.

9. pyrum thermolysis permanent gas

Pyrum thermolysis permanent gas: energy self-​sufficient operation

A special feature of the patented Pyrum thermolysis process is that after starting up the system once with external energy, sufficient energy is generated by the gas obtained in the condensation process to enable the system to operate independently. A surplus of energy is even generated, which can be sold on as thermal or electrical energy.

10. pyrum thermolysis coke (carbon black)

Pyrum thermolysis coke (carbon black): High-​tech raw material

The coke produced in the pyrum thermolysis process can be used unground, with a grain size of up to 4 mm, as a soil improver, substitute fuel or filler. However, a large proportion of the pyrum thermolysis coke is used for the production of recovered carbon black (rCB).

Learn more

11. pyrum-​recovered carbon black (rCB)

Pyrum-​recovered Carbon Black (rCB): The raw material for new tyres

Through further processing in a grinding plant, Pyrum produces high-​quality recovered carbon black (rCB), which is an increasingly sought-​after raw material in the tyre industry for the production of sustainable new tyres. This closes the material cycle sustainably. Pyrum-​recovered Carbon Black (rCB) can be supplied in ground form in sizes from 7–36 µm.

Practical applications

The recovered carbon black (rCB) obtained from the rubber of old bicycle tyres using pyrum thermolysis is fed back into the manufacturing process for new bicycle tyres.

Learn more

In the medium term, the particularly high-​quality pyrum carbon black (rCB) is to be used for Continental’s tyre production.

Transforming waste into resources

Pyrum Thermolyse: Nachhaltige Rohstoffe und Energie aus Altreifen und Abfällen.

Transforming waste into resources

Pyrum Thermolyse: Nachhaltige Rohstoffe und Energie aus Altreifen und Abfällen.

We’re exhibiting at Tire Technology Expo

Hannover, March 19, 20 & 21, 2024

Siemes Ag /​Pyrum Innovations AG
Stand no. 8058

Das Thermolyseverfahren interaktiv erklärt

Das Thermolyse­verfahren

Pyrum Logo weiß

„Die reinste Form des Wahnsinns ist es, alles beim Alten zu lassen und gleichzeitig zu hoffen, dass sich etwas ändert.“ (Albert Einstein)

Die Pyrum Innovations AG

Die Pyrum Innovations AG ist ein zukunftsweisendes Recycling- und Anlagenbauunternehmen mit Sitz in Dillingen/​Saar (Deutschland).

Auf Basis unseres weltweit patentierten, einzigartigen Thermolyse-​Verfahrens entwickeln, bauen und betreiben wir innovative Recyclinganlagen. Mit diesen lassen sich aus Altreifen, Gummi und Kunststoffabfällen auf umweltverträgliche Art Rohstoffe mit hoher Qualität gewinnen und erneut dem Wertstoffkreislauf zuführen. Zu den gewonnenen Sekundär-​Rohstoffen gehören u. a. Thermolyseöl mit REACH-​Zertifizierung sowie recovered Carbon Black (rCB).

Die innovativen Thermolyse-​Recyclinganlagen werden weltweit vermarktet und an die Pyrum-​Vertragspartner ausgeliefert.

Im September 2020 hat sich die BASF im Rahmen ihres ChemCyclingTM-Projekts an der Pyrum Innovations AG beteiligt und garantiert die Abnahme des sowohl in den eigenen Anlagen als auch in den Werken der Vertragspartner erzeugten Thermolyseöls.

Video abspielen

Pyrum Partner

Technologie 

Die Pyrum-​Thermolyse: Bei dem einzigartigen, patentierten Verfahren handelt es sich um eine thermische Zerlegung von organischen Substanzen respektive Gummi- und Kunststoffabfällen unter Sauerstoffausschluss. 

Lösungen 

Maßgefertigte Recyclinglösungen für Altreifen, Gummi und Kunststoffe: Die Pyrum Innovations Gruppe entwickelt und baut innovative Thermolyseanlagen für das effiziente Recycling von Gummi und diversen Kunststoffen. 

Umwelt 

Mission Altreifen: Illegal in der Natur entsorgte oder verbrannte Altreifen richten großen Umweltschaden an. Wir verwerten Altreifen auf umweltverträgliche Art zu wertvollen Sekundär-​Rohstoffen und halten sie damit im Wertstoffkreislauf. 

Vorteile der Pyrum Thermolyse-Technologie

100% auto­nome Energieversorgung 
72% CO2 Einsparung 
Flexible Modulbauweise 
Wieder­gewinnung von Rohstoffen 

Aktuelles

Besichtigung Pyrum Thermolysewerk am 30.10.2024
Pyrum Innovations AG veröffentlicht Finanzzahlen für die ersten drei Monate 2024
Ausweitung des Einsatzes von Pyrum rCB im Schwalbe-Reifensortiment

Der Pyrum-​Gedanke

Die Pyrum Innovations AG entstand 2008 aus einer Idee von vier Freunden in einer 9 m² großen Gartenlaube. Heute sind wir eines der führenden Thermolyse-​Unternehmen mit weltweiten Patenten.

Seit der Unternehmensgründung haben wir alles selbst entwickelt, geplant und gebaut – vom eigenen Labor bis hin zum großindustriellen Recyclingwerk. Die größten Hürden auf dem angestrebten Weg zum Weltmarktführer haben wir bereits gemeistert.

Die Pyrum-​Geschichte zeigt, dass nichts unmöglich ist, solange man an sich und seine Sache glaubt. Wir haben das Thermolyse-​Verfahren zur Überraschung vieler Zweifler erfolgreich im industriellen Maßstab realisiert – ganz nach dem Motto: “Alle sagten das sei unmöglich, dann kam jemand, der das nicht wusste, und hat es einfach gemacht”.

Wir werden auch in Zukunft unseren Werten treu bleiben, über den Tellerrand hinausschauen und neue Lösungen entwickeln, um einen Beitrag dazu zu leisten, die Abfall- und Umweltprobleme der Welt zu lösen.

Der Vorstand

1. Recycling von Altreifen

Umweltgerechtes Reifen-Recycling

Mit der patentierten Pyrum-Thermolyse werden aus alten Reifen neue Rohstoffe gewonnen: Neben Stahldraht und Gewebefasern vor allem Öl, Gas und Carbon – energieautark und umweltgerecht. Im Vergleich zum Altreifen-Entsorgungsmix in Deutschland werden dabei 72 % CO2 eingespart (laut Fraunhofer UMSICHT Studie 2022).

2. Schreddern der Altreifen

Drei Tonnen Altreifen pro Stunde schreddern

Die Altreifen werden zunächst geschreddert. Das Pyrum-Werk in Dillingen hat eine Kapazität von drei Tonnen Altreifen pro Stunde.
Gewebefasern und Stahldraht werden herausgefiltert und dem
Produktionskreislauf der Industrie zugeführt.

Mehr erfahren

3. Stahldraht herausfiltern

Pyrum-Stahldraht: Nachhaltiger Rohstoff für die Stahlindustrie

Aus einer Tonne Altreifen werden bis zu 750 kg Pyrum-Stahldraht herausgefiltert. Durch Nachbehandlung des Stahldrahts erreicht Pyrum eine Reinheit von über 96 Prozent. Der Draht kann zum aktuellen Stahlmischschrott-Preis erworben werden.

Mehr erfahren

4. Gewebefasern herausfiltern

Pyrum-Gewebefasern: Nachhaltiger Rohstoff für Bauindustrie

Aus drei Tonnen Altreifen werden bis zu 300 kg Pyrum-Gewebefasern herausgefiltert. Diese werden als wertvoller Sekundärrohstoff für die Herstellung neuen Dämm-Materials für die Bau-Industrie genutzt.

5. Pyrum-Gummigranulat

Pyrum-Gummigranulat: Der Stoff für Top-Recyclingprodukte

Das im Pyrum-Thermolyseverfahren erzeugte Gummigranulat ist ein wertvoller und gefragter Sekundär-Rohstoff für die Produktion nachhaltiger Recyclingprodukte, der höchsten Ansprüchen genügt. Das Granulat wird in vier verschiedenen Korngrößen von 1 bis 6 mm für unterschiedliche Anwendungen und nahezu jeden Kundenbedarf angeboten.

Mehr erfahren

6. Thermolyse des Reifengummis

Pyrum-Thermolyse: Nachhaltige Rohstoffe aus Reifengummi

Aus drei Tonnen Altreifen werden bis zu 2.100 kg Gummi herausgefiltert. Das granulierte Gummi (Korngröße 12 mm) wird der Thermolyse im patentierten Pyrum-Vertikalreaktor zugeführt. Dabei wird das Gummi in Dampf und Feststoff (Koks) getrennt. Im Prozess wird genügend Energie für den autarken Betrieb der Anlage erzeugt.

Mit der Pyrum-Thermolyse werden neben Abgas- und Wärme-Energie wertvolle Rohstoffe für die nachhaltige Herstellung neuer Produkte erzeugt:

7. Pyrum-Thermolyse-Öl

Pyrum-Thermolyse-Öl: Nachhaltiger Rohstoff für die Chemie-Industrie

Die bei der Pyrum-Thermolyse erzeugten Dämpfe werden kondensiert und in Permanentgas sowie Thermolyseöl getrennt. Das Pyrum-Thermolyse-Öl ist ein einzigartiges Roh-Öl, das mit höchster Qualität und konstanter Güte hergestellt wird.

Das REACH zertifizierte Recycling-Öl wird in diversen Industrien als Rohstoff eingesetzt: chemische Industrie, Raffinerien, Rußherstellung (CB) etc.

Praxisanwendungen

Pyrum-Thermolyse-Öl wird zum Beispiel in Kombination mit Biomethan als Rohstoff in der Herstellung von neuwertigen Kunststoffen für Fahrzeug-Bauteile von Mercedes-Benz eingesetzt.

Mehr erfahren

Pyrum-Thermolyse-Öl wird zum Beispiel als Rohmaterial für die Herstellung von Polyamid für Outdoor-Bekleidung der Marke VAUDE eingesetzt.

Mehr erfahren

8. BASF setzt auf Pyrum-Thermolyse-Öl

BASF setzt auf Pyrum-Thermolyse-Öl

Der Chemiekonzern BASF hat im Rahmen des ChemCycling™-Projekts in die Pyrum Innovations AG investiert. BASF sichert sich mit dem REACH zertifizierten Thermolyse-Öl eine zukunftsweisende Rohstoffquelle und verbessert damit zugleich seine eigene Klimabilanz. Schon heute verwendet BASF das Öl am Standort Ludwigshafen für neuwertige Kunststoffe zur Herstellung von Fahrzeugbauteilen von Mercedes-Benz.

9. Pyrum-Thermolyse-Permanentgas

Pyrum-Thermolyse-Permanentgas: Energieautarker Betrieb

Eine Besonderheit des patentierten Pyrum Thermolyse-Verfahrens ist es, dass nach einmaligem Anfahren der Anlage mit Fremdenergie, ausreichend Energie durch das im Kondensationsprozess gewonnene Gas erzeugt wird, um einen autarken Betrieb der Anlage zu ermöglichen. Es wird sogar ein Energieüberschuss erzeugt, der als Wärme- oder Elektroenergie weiterverkauft werden kann.

10. Pyrum-Thermolyse-Koks (Carbon Black)

Pyrum-Thermolyse-Koks (Carbon Black): Hightech-Rohstoff

Das im Pyrum-Thermolyseverfahren gewonnene Koks kann ungemahlen, mit einer Korngröße von bis zu 4 mm, als Bodenverbesserer, Ersatzbrennstoff oder Füllstoff eingesetzt werden. Ein Großteil des Pyrum-Thermolyse-Koks wird jedoch zur Herstellung von recovered Carbon Black (rCB) verwendet.

Mehr erfahren

11. Pyrum-recovered Carbon Black (rCB)

Pyrum-recovered Carbon Black (rCB): Der Rohstoff für Neureifen

Durch die Weiterverarbeitung in einem Mahlwerk wird von Pyrum hochwertiges recovered Carbon Black (rCB) hergestellt, das in der Reifenindustrie ein zunehmend gefragter Rohstoff für die Herstellung nachhaltiger Neureifen ist. Damit wird der Wertstoffkreislauf nachhaltig geschlossen. Pyrum-recovered Carbon Black (rCB) kann in gemahlener Form in Größen von 7–36 µm geliefert werden.

Praxisanwendungen

Das per Pyrum-Thermolyse aus dem Gummi alter Fahrradreifen gewonnene recovered Carbon Black (rCB) fließt wieder in den Herstellungsprozess von neuen Fahrradreifen zurück.

Mehr erfahren

Mittelfristig soll der qualitativ besonders hochwertige Pyrum-Industrieruß (rCB) für die Reifenproduktion von Continental eingesetzt werden.